SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES OF THE PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING BOARD

BISMARCK, NORTH DAKOTA

September 11, 2024

Members Present Members Absent

Adrian Martinez
Jesse Jahner
Joe Cianni
Erik Dietrich
Travis Stefonowicz
Steve Armstrong
Lyn James
Roger Hutchinson

Legal Counsel

Matt Oderman

Ethan Rode Lori Mickelson

Chantel Brorby

Guests

Administrative Staff

Pat Helfrich Jessica Linder

Chairman Joe Cianni called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m. Jessica Linder took roll call. All members were present except Matt Oderman. Roger Hutchinson joined the meeting after roll call was conducted.

The meeting was via Teams.

Basic Academy Waiver - Benson Co - Chantel Brorby

Benson County Sheriff Department sent a letter to the POST Board asking for a waiver of basic training for Chantel Brorby, a new hire on a limited license. Chantel Brorby is scheduled for the academy on September 30th, 2024. Sheriff Ethan Rode asked the board for a waiver for the September 30th academy, due to the hardship it would put on the agency. The Benson County Sheriff Department is currently understaffed, and they already have a new hire attending the September 30th academy. Sheriff Rode also asked the board to grant her a waiver to attend Lake Region State College in Devils Lake that begins in January.

Motion

Erik Dietrich made a motion to deny Chantel Brorby attending the Lake Region State College but allow her to attend LETA in February 2025. Roger Hutchinson seconded the motion. All in favor, motion carried.

TPO Changes

Changes to the current TPO's were made and brought in front of the board for approval. These changes were made to create more time for hands on based training and to remove redundancies throughout the courses. The board was given time to review the changes and to voice any questions or concerns about them.

<u>Motion</u>

Jesse Jahner made a motion to incorporate the changes made into the TPO program and to have all three of the academy's, Lake Region State College, Cass Co, and LETA, be fully compliant no later than January 1st, 2025. Erik Dietrich seconded the motion. All in favor, motion carried.

Chairman Cianni adjourned the meeting at 2:07 PM